ӰƵ


Site Navigation
Welcome
Important Notice and Disclaimer
Academic Schedule
Tentative Future Dates
Types of Credentials and Sub-Degree Nomenclature
Undergraduate Degrees with a Major
Combined Degrees
Minor Programs
Student and Campus Services
Admissions
Academic Regulations
Experiential Learning
Tuition and General Fees
Student Financial Support
Architecture, Planning and Landscape, School of
Faculty of Arts
Cumming School of Medicine
Faculty of Graduate Studies
Haskayne School of Business
Faculty of Kinesiology
Faculty of Law
Faculty of Nursing
Qatar Faculty
Schulich School of Engineering
Faculty of Science
Faculty of Social Work
Faculty of Veterinary Medicine
Werklund School of Education
Embedded Certificates
Continuing Education
COURSES OF INSTRUCTION
About the ӰƵ
Glossary of Terms
Archives
Contact Us
ӰƵ Calendar 2023-2024 Academic Schedule
Academic Schedule
2023-2024 Academic Dates and Deadlines

The academic year starts with the Fall Term and ends with the Summer Intersession.

The schedules for the Juris Doctor, Doctor of Medicine and the Doctor of Veterinary Medicine may have different start and end dates.

Courses taught according to a non-standard schedule have different drop, add and withdrawal deadlines. Please refer to the for deadlines specific to courses with a non-standard schedule.

The academic schedule may be updated online when required and as needed.

See: Spring/Summer 2023 | Fall/Winter 2023/24 | Spring/Summer 2024


Spring/Summer Term 2023 Spring Intersession 2023 Summer Intersession 2023
Academic Dates
Start of Term
Monday, May 1 Wednesday, May 3 Monday, June 26
End of Term

Friday, August 25

Friday, June 23

Friday, August 25

Start of Classes
Wednesday, May 3 Monday, June 26
End of Classes
Thursday, June 15

Tuesday, August 8

Start of Exams
Monday, June 19 Thursday, August 10
End of Exams

Wednesday, June 21

Monday, August 14
Registration Dates
Last day to drop a class without financial penalty* Tuesday, May 9 Tuesday, May 9 Friday, June 30
Last day to add or swap a course
Tuesday, May 9 Friday, June 30
Last day to withdraw from a course**
Thursday, June 15

Tuesday, August 8

Tuition and Refund Dates
End of refund period Tuesday, May 9 Tuesday, May 9 Friday, June 30
Tuition and Fee Payment Deadline

Friday, May 12

Friday, May 12

Wednesday, July 5
Important Dates
Spring Convocation
Monday-Friday, May 29-June 2
Recognized Holidays (university closed)
Victoria Day
Monday, May 22
Canada Day

Saturday, July 1 (observed Monday,
July 3)
Alberta Heritage Day

Monday, August 7

*There will be no academic record of a course that is dropped by this date and tuition will be refunded.
**There will be a "W" recorded for the course and tuition will not be refunded.

(back to top)


Fall Term 2023 Winter Term 2024
Academic Dates
Start of Term
Monday, August 28 Tuesday, January 2
End of Term
Friday, December 22 Tuesday, April 30
Block Week Monday-Friday, August 28-September 1 Tuesday-Saturday, January 2-6
Start of Classes Tuesday, September 5 Monday, January 8
Term Break, no classes Sunday-Saturday, November 12-18 Sunday-Saturday, February 18-24
End of Classes Wednesday, December 6 Tuesday, April 9
Start of Exams Saturday, December 9
Friday, April 12
End of Exams Wednesday, December 20 Tuesday, April 23
Registration Dates
Last day to drop a class without financial penalty* Thursday, September 14 Thursday, January 18
Last day to add or swap a course Friday, September 15
Friday, January 19
Last day to withdraw from a course** Wednesday, December 6 Tuesday, April 9
Tuition and Refund Dates
End of refund period Thursday, September 14 Thursday, January 18
Tuition and Fee Payment Deadline Friday, September 22 Friday, January 26
Important Dates
Deadline to Apply for Fall Convocation

Friday, September 15


Fall Convocation Thursday, November 16
Deadline to Apply for Winter Conferral of Degree
Monday, January 15
Winter Conferral of Degree
Tuesday, February 13
Deadline to Apply for Spring Convocation
Sunday, March 31
Recognized Holidays (university closed)
Labour Day Monday, September 4
National Day for Truth and Reconciliation
Saturday, September 30

Thanksgiving Day Monday, October 9
Remembrance Day Saturday, November 11 (observed Monday, November 13)

Holiday Observance Monday-Sunday, December 25-31
New Year's Day
Monday, January 1
Alberta Family Day
Monday, February 19
Good Friday
Friday, March 29
Easter Monday
Monday, April 1

*There will be no academic record of a course that is dropped by this date and tuition will be refunded.
**There will be a "W" recorded for the course and tuition will not be refunded.

(back to top)


Spring/Summer Term 2024 Spring Intersession 2024 Summer Intersession 2024
Academic Dates
Start of Term
Wednesday, May 1 Wednesday, May 1 Monday, June 24
End of Term
Sunday, August 25 Sunday, June 23 Sunday, August 25
Start of Classes
Monday, May 6 Monday, June 24
End of Classes
Monday, June 17

Tuesday, August 6

Start of Exams Wednesday, June 19 Thursday, August 8
End of Exams Saturday, June 22 Monday, August 12
Registration Dates
Last day to drop a class without financial penalty*

Thursday, May 9

Thursday, May 9

Thursday, June 27
Last day to add or swap a course

Thursday, May 9

Thursday, June 27
Last day to withdraw from a course**
Monday, June 17

Tuesday, August 6

Tuition and Refund Dates
End of refund period

Thursday, May 9

Thursday, May 9

Thursday, June 27
Tuition and Fee Payment Deadline Tuesday, May 14 Tuesday, May 14 Wednesday, July 3
Important Dates
Spring Convocation
Wednesday-Friday, May 29-June 7

Recognized Holidays (university closed)
Victoria Day
Monday, May 20
Canada Day


Monday, July 1
Alberta Heritage Day

Monday, August 5

*There will be no academic record of a course that is dropped by this date and tuition will be refunded.
**There will be a "W" recorded for the course and tuition will not be refunded.

(back to top)