Cade Morey

Energize Campaign Report

Thank you.Together we have achieved an incredible, historic milestone for the ӰƵ, andforour community.

When it wrapped in June 2020, UCalgary's Energize: The Campaign for Eyes High was the third-largest successfully completed fundraising campaign in Canadian history. We have more than a billion reasons to celebrate, but the most important reason is you.

The passion, vision and devoted involvement of our philanthropic family here and around the world has elevated students, accelerated research, driven innovation, strengthened partnerships, and transformed our campus and our city.

Vanier Cup Celebration

Students at the orientation pep rally 2019

202 graduate awards established
More than 20,000 undergraduate students have received more than $61 million in scholarships and bursaries
526 new or renovated teaching, learning and research spaces over the course of the campaign

Students walk around UCalgary main campus

Voices of Energize

There's a story behind every gift to the Energize campaign. Giving impacts people on both sides of every gift, and empowers transformative change in the world. Meet a few of our inspiring friends and champions who have driven, illuminated and given meaning to the Energize journey.

Thank you to the following community leaders, philanthropists, supporters, alumni and faculty for sharing your words for the Voices of Energize video.

Rahul Arora, BHSC’19; Rhodes Scholar

Namratha Badawadagi; Student

Jaydeep BALAKRISHNAN; Retired faculty member

Varun Bhatt, BComm’20, BSc’20

Mark Blackwell, BComm’11; Partner, Builders VC, philanthropist

Emily BOUCHER, BHSC’19; Rhodes Scholar

Emily Chen; Student

Mavis Clark, BEd’72, MEd’82; Philanthropist

Geoff Cumming, BA’74, LLD’16; Chairman, Optisolar, Inc., philanthropist

Dani Currie; Student

Manpreet Deol, BSc’20; Rhodes Scholar

Max Eisele, BSc’20

Dr. Chen Fong, LLD’19; Professor emeritus, philanthropist

Diane Hunter, BA’67, MA’69, LLD’19; Hunter Family Foundation, philanthropist

Margaret Kangas; BSc (Eng)'19

Dr. Michael Kehler; PhD;Faculty

Ash Kolstad, BSc’19; Graduate student

Saifa KOONAR, BComm’92, MBA’02; CEO, Alberta Children’s Hospital Foundation, partner

Hal Kvisle, MBA’82, LLD’19; Chairman, ARC Resources, philanthropist

Dr. Richard Leigh; Faculty

Colton Lewis, BComm’15; Philanthropist

Dr. Ian Lewis, PhD; Faculty

Dr. David Lertzman, PhD; Faculty

Dr. Steve Liang, PhD; Faculty

Dr. Joshua Madsen, PhD; Faculty

Ron Mathison; Chairman, Matco Investments, philanthropist

Dr. Nabeela Nathoo, BSc’90, MD’17, PhD’17; Student, donor

Safia NATHOO, BSc’07, MSc’09, MBA’14; Staff, donor

Emmanuel Olapade; Student

Dr. Ed Pajor, PhD; Faculty

Maria Pavlova, BA’15, MSc’19; Student

Dr. Kristina Rinker, PhD; Faculty

Boston Rowe, BComm’18

Dr. Pere Santamaria, MD, PhD; Faculty

Dr. Baljit SINGH, PhD; Faculty, donor

Don TAYLOR, LLD’07, Ruth Taylor; Philanthropist

Mike Tims, BComm’76, LLD’09; Vice chairman, Matco Investments; philanthropist

Aritha Van Herk; Faculty, donor

Deb YEDLIN; Chancellor

Campaign Advisors

The ӰƵ acknowledges the valuable support of its dedicated campaign volunteers, including:

  • , BComm’11
  • , BA’74, Hon. LLD’16
  • , BEd’73, Hon. LLD’11
  • James (Jim) Dinning,C.M., Hon. LLD’02
  • W. David Duckett, BComm’78
  • Charlie Fischer, BSc’71, MBA’82, Hon. LLD’04 (Deceased)
  • , Hon. LLD’19
  • , O.C., AOE, Hon. LLD’97
  • Wayne Henuset
  • ElizabethHenuset
  • , Hon. LLD’19
  • , BA’67, MA’69, Hon. LLD’19
  • Brenda Mackie
  • Keith MacPhail
  • Zainool Mamdani
  • , O.C., Hon. LLD’10
  • , Hon. LLD’10
  • Seymour Schulich, O.C., Hon. LLD’10
  • , Hon. LLD’05
  • , O.C., Hon. LLD’07
  • Michael J. Tims, BComm’76, Hon. LLD’09
  • Mac Van Wielingen, Hon. LLD’14
  • , Hon. LLD’12